Thursday, May 8, 2014

This day in Indianapolis hockey history: May 8

The Ice win the Clark Cup, and we wish happy birthdays to the late Cully Simon and former Chief Pierre Brillant, the most prolific goal scorer in Indianapolis hockey history.

2009: Another dominant performance by the Ice. After falling behind 1-0, Brandon Richardson gives the Ice a 2-1 lead with 5:52 left in the second, and then stretches the lead 2:21 into the third. Grant Blakey and Zach Golombiewski add third-period goals to net a 5-1 victory over the Fargo Force in Game 4 of the Clark Cup Final. The Ice clinch the series 3-1. Mike Cichy has three assists in the win, and the Ice claim the United States junior hockey national championship, the eighth playoff title in Indianapolis hockey history. Brett Bennett makes 36 saves to outduel Mike Lee. The Ice win despite being outshot 37-18. From the midpoint of Game 2 on, the Ice outscored Fargo 15-2. 

Happy birthday to ...
Cully Simon: Defenseman who played a partial season for the Capitals in 1942-43. He played 130 NHL games, all during WWII, with the Red Wings, tallying 15 points. He won the Stanley Cup in 1943, being called up to Detroit mid-season. A native of Brockville, Ont., he was born in 1918. He passed away in 1980.  
Pierre Brillant: One of the most prolific scorers in Indianapolis hockey history, he is the only player who has suited up in Indianapolis to score 200 goals for an Indy-based team. He netted 204 goals for the Chiefs between 1956-61, playing 278 games. His 365 points are third-most on the Indy professional scoring list, and his 161 assists are eighth-most. He was the IHL's MVP in both 1956-57 and 1957-58. He had 79 points and 38 goals in the first year, leading the league. He followed it up with a 45-gal, 71-point season in 1957-58, later leading the Chiefs to the Turner Cup title that season. He scored 57 goals and 98 points in 1958-59, and 50 goals and 87 points in 1959-60. He was dealt to Omaha for Bep Guidolin in the middle of the 1960-61 season, and played eight more seasons in the AHL, and 10 more pro seasons before retiring in 1970. A native of Rimouski, Quebec, he was born in 1932.

No comments:

Post a Comment