Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Game 5 pregame

An hour before faceoff in Waterloo, Iowa. The Indiana Ice & Waterloo Black Hawks have one game to decide the title.

It's the fourth winner-take-all championship game played by an Indianapolis-based hockey team, joining the 1942 Capitals (beat Hershey 8-3 in Game 5 of AHL Final), 1958 Chiefs (beat Louisville 3-2 in Game 7 of IHL Final) and 2000 Ice (beat Columbus 3-0 in Game 7 of CHL Final). All but the 1942 game were played on the road.

Lineups & more below the jump.

Broadcast: FastHockey.com (PPV video), IndianaTalks.com (free audio) with Jim Mirabello and Andrew Smith

It's the fourth Game 5 in Indiana Ice history -- and the fourth to be played in Iowa. The first three came in first-round series 60 miles down I-380 in Cedar Rapids. In 2006, the Ice dropped a 6-2 decision to Cedar Rapids. The 2009 Ice won 6-5 on Torey Krug's game-winner in the third period, and then went 6-2 the rest of the way to win the Clark Cup. In 2010, Anthony Bitetto scored in overtime to give the Ice a 3-2 win over Cedar Rapids.

It's also the second quest for the Clark Cup for each team -- the Ice won it in 2009, the Black Hawks in 2004.

A standing room only crowd is expected at Young Arena, and their ubiquitous cowbells are already at full volume.

The goaltending matchup is as expected: Waterloo will start Cal Petersen, who is 8-2 in the playoffs with a 2.30 GAA. He has a 2.25 GAA in the series. The Ice will give Jason Pawloski his ninth straight start. He is 7-2 with a 1.78 GAA. He has a 2.50 GAA in the series.

Waterloo is going with the same lineup as in Game 4. The Ice returned to the same forward lineup they used in Game 3, with Aidan Muir and Dwyer Tschantz returning to the lineup.

Game 5 pregame lines
Indiana Ice
Mitch Hults-Patrick Newell-Sam Kurker
Tyler Pham-Joe Sullivan-Alex Talcott
Denis Smirnov-Scott Conway-Dwyer Tschantz
Jacob Pritchard-Brian Pinho-Aidan Muir

Tim Shoup-Ryan Mantha
Austin Kosack-Josh Jacobs
Matt Roy-Mike Preston

Jason Pawloski
Hayden Stewart

Scratches: F-Jason Salvaggio, Tyler Andrew; D-Chris Martenet, Vince Pedrie

Waterloo Black Hawks
Liam Pecararo-Peter Krieger-Patrick Russell
Blake Winiecki-Tyler Sheehy-Drew Melanson
Zach Sanford-Jake Horton-Tim Lappin
John Wiitala-Brandon Salerno-Austin Vieth

Hayden Shaw-Brandon Montour
Dane Cooper-Mark Friedman
Derek Pratt-Alec McCrea

Cal Petersen
Cameron Johnson

Scratches: F-Nick Olczyk, Lawton Courtnall, Tyson McLellan; D-Cooper Watson, Phil Beaulieu

No comments:

Post a Comment