Wednesday, May 14, 2014

This day in Indianapolis hockey history: May 14

May 14 in Indianapolis hockey history
1990: A crowd of 6,003 roars for the entire final half of the third period as the Ice clinch the IHL's Turner Cup, sweeping Muskegon in four games by beating the Lumberjacks 2-1. Mike Eagles scores 5:43 into the second, and Sean Williams follows with another goal at 9:05. That would turn out to be the championship-winner, as the Lumberjacks would score later in the period. Jim Waite stops 33 of the 34 shots he sees, including all nine in the third period. The Ice have to kill off three power plays after taking a one-goal lead, and do so successfully. The championship celebration is legendary, as the Turner Cup ends up needing to be put back together after a night on the town in Indianapolis.

No comments:

Post a Comment