Thursday, April 24, 2014

Players/coaches with Indy ties in the playoffs

As the playoffs begin, here is an update on players with Central Indiana ties -- either former Indianapolis players/coaches or those who were born and/or raised in Central Indiana -- who are participating in various professional league postseasons.

Players from Indiana/Indianapolis ties in U.S./Canadian professional league postseasons.
Columbus Blue Jackets: Jack Johnson (b.Indianapolis) (opening round vs. Pittsburgh Penguins)
Los Angeles Kings: coach Darryl Sutter (former Indianapolis Ice coach) (opening round vs. San Jose Sharks)
Providence Bruins: Zach Trotman (b.Carmel), coach Bruce Cassidy (former Indianapolis Ice player & coach) (opening round vs. Springfield Falcons)

Former Indiana Ice
Boston Bruins: Torey Krug (Ice 2008-09, opening round vs. Detroit Red Wings)
Colorado Avalanche: Paul Carey (Ice 2007-08, opening round vs. Minnesota Wild)
Binghamton Senators: Ben Blood (Ice 2007-08) (opening round vs. Wilkes Barre-Scranton Penguins)
Grand Rapids Griffins: Jeff Blashill (coach; Ice 2008-10) (opening round vs. Abbotsford Heat)
Manchester Monarchs: Nic Dowd (Ice 2009-10) (opening round vs. Norfolk Admirals)
Milwaukee Admirals: Scott Darling (Ice 2007-08), Anthony Bitetto (Ice 2008-10) (opening round vs. Toronto Marlies)
Fort Wayne Komets: Mike Embach (Ice 2006-07); Joe Hartman (Ice 2008-09) (opening round vs. Reading Royals)
Kalamazoo Wings: Eric Kattelus (Ice 2006-07) (opening round vs. Greenville Road Warriors) 
Las Vegas Wranglers: Eddie Del Grosso (Ice 2004-06) (opening round vs. Alaska Aces) 
Orlando Solar Bears: Cody Reichard (Ice 2005-07), Corey Fienhage (Ice 2007-08) (opening round vs. Cincinnati Cyclones)
Reading Royals: Brandon Blandina (Ice 2007-08), Stanislav Galiev (Ice 2008-09), T.J. Syner (Ice 2007-08) (opening round vs. Fort Wayne Komets)
Utah Grizzlies: Brent Gwidt (Ice 2006-09) (opening round vs. Bakersfield Condors)
Arizona Sundogs: Sebastien Geoffrion (Ice 2008-09) (beat Missouri Mavericks 4-2, trail Denver 2-1 in semifinals)
Rapid City Rush: Tristin Llewellyn (Ice 2004-06) (lost to Quad City 4-3 in opening round)
Tulsa Oilers: Drew Fisher (Ice 2004-05) (lost to Denver 4-2 in opening round)
Columbus Cottonmouths: Will Aide (Ice 2010-11) (beat Peoria 2-1 in quarterinals, beat Huntsville 2-0 in semifinals, lost to Pensacola 2-0 in finals)
Huntsville Havoc: Mike Gurtler (Ice 2006-07) (beat Mississippi 2-1 in quarterfinals, lost to Columbus 2-0 in semifinals)
Louisiana IceGators: Ron Cramer (Ice 2005-08) (lost to Knoxville 2-0 in quarterfinals)

No comments:

Post a Comment