Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Today in history: April 20

More great playoff games on April 20, all in the various Ice eras.

1990: The Ice clinch their first playoff series, beating Peoria 3-2 in front of 4,467 at the Coliseum. Darren Pang is the goaltender, posting his second victory in the series. Jim Johannson scores the game-winning goal. The Ice win the series 4 games to 1.
1991: With their backs to the wall and a sellout crowd in the Allen County Coliseum howling, Dominik Hasek backstops a 4-3 Ice victory, with tough guy Warren Rychel providing the winning goal. The Ice would return home for a Game 7 the next night in an epic playoff series. 
1996: Jim Waite shuts out the Detroi Vipers 3-0 in the Palace of Auburn Hills to give the Ice a 2-0 lead in their best-of-5 series. Detroit would win three close games to take the series. 
2006: Eric Kattelus scores 5:59 into OT to give the Ice a 3-2 victory and a 2-0 lead in their first-round playoff series over Green Bay. The Ice would sweep the series 4-0. 

Kurt Lackton: Played nine games and scored a goal for the Ice's 1988-89 squad. A native of Kansack, Saskatchewan, he is 44 today. 
Matt Hoyle: USHL Ice goaltender in 2007-08, part of the goaltending tandem on a division championship team. Matt went 12-5-4 that year, and went on to play one year at Harvard University before leaving for Canadian major junior for a partial season in Guelph. A native of Mississauga, Ontario, he is 21 today.
Adam Erne: Current Ice player who has scored 10 goals and added eight assists on this year's team. A native of Branford, CT, he is 16 today. 

No comments:

Post a Comment