Saturday, December 10, 2011

Today in history: December 10

December 10 in Indianapolis hockey history
1978: Gary Inness backstops a 6-4 Racers victory over the Edmonton Oilers. Don Larway, Bryon Baltimore and John Hughes scored three goals in a 100-second span late in the second to give the Racers a 4-2 lead. Rene LeClerc scored the game-winner at 9:07 of the third. It was the team’s final victory, and took place in front of 4,735 fans.

Jeff Blashill: Ice coach from 2008-10, leading them to the Clark Cup championship in 2009. His teams went 72-53-5 over the two years with the Ice. They won the title in 2009, defeating the Fargo Force 3-1 in the championship series. The following year, they defeated Cedar Rapids in five games in the opening round before falling to eventual Clark Cup champion Green Bay in the conference finals. He moved on to coach Western Michigan University for one year, having a tremendous run, and currently serves as an assistant coach with the Detroit Red Wings. A native of Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., he is 38.

No comments:

Post a Comment