Tuesday, July 1, 2014

ECHL protected lists

The ECHL's teams have released their lists of qualifying offers. Players not on qualifying offers and unsigned become free agents available to sign with any ECHL team or any other hockey team. For reference, here are the end of season rosters.

One thing to note is the number of veterans who become free agents that the Indy Fuel (and other ECHL teams) can sign, as several players crossed the 260 professional game threshold to become veterans. Teams are allowed to sign up to four veterans, who often are core players and leaders of the team. Currently, the Fuel have 2 players on the roster -- both rookies, Pete Massar and Rhett Bly. 

What's notable is that a lot of teams rarely qualified their veterans (who become RFA). The teams retain the rights of qualified non-veterans for one calendar year. Not all teams used all eight qualifying offers. Players already signed do not have to be issued qualifying offers. Players on NHL/AHL contracts obviously do not have to be qualified, either, as they are property of the parent club. 

There have been a handful of affiliation changes this offseason so far besides the Fuel's affiliation with Chicago. 
Elmira: Buffalo (formerly New Jersey & Ottawa)
Indy: Chicago (expansion team)
Reading: Philadelphia (formerly Washington)
South Carolina: Washington (formerly Boston)
Toledo: Detroit (formerly Chicago & Detroit)

No comments:

Post a Comment